We have no pride

Hi Phos family!! This is the first post of the Salvation Basics/Lessons I talked about in this post. The first thing to know when one is saved is that he’s a new creature. His sins have been forgiven and he starts on a clean slate

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here (2 Corinthians 5:17)!

Now that we know this, its important to know that the life we’re living now is no longer ours. Its God’s.

I have been crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So the life I now live in the body, I live because of the faithfulness of the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me (Galatians 2:20).

When we’re in Christ, it’s no longer about us and therefore whatever He tells us to do we do. Wherever He tells us to go we go. Our answer should always be yes. We are not to think about ourselves, therefore we no longer have pride.

“If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow Me” (Luke 9:23)

A couple of days ago, God told me to do something and I was like “no nau, what would this person think of me” and He told me, “baby cakes, you have no pride when you’re in me”. It’s the hard truth. Well not so hard cos pleasing God is the ultimate. Humans can’t take us to heaven.

“And I say to you, My friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do. But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear Him who, after He has killed, has power to cast into hell;  yes, I say to you, fear Him” (Luke 12:4-5).

So yes, we have got to learn to swallow our pride when in Christ. Say yes to whatever He tells us to do. Luke 20:17-18 says

Then He looked at them and said, “What then is this that is written:

‘The stone which the builders rejected Has become the chief cornerstone ‘?

Whoever falls on that stone will be broken but on whomever it falls, it will grind him to powder”.

It’s up to you baby cakes. Make your choice. To be broken or ground?? Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need (Matthew 6:33). The rewards of the righteous are numerous – protection, provision of all kinds, good health, and many other earthly rewards. The ultimate reward of course being heaven. We however must be willing to have no pride/swallow our pride/misplace our pride/forget our pride so we can obey all of God’s instructions. Its a small price to pay for eternity.

When Jesus came to earth too He did this – denied Himself and let God take over. That was why His ministry was so successful. 

Then Jesus cried out and said, “He who believes in Me, believes not in Me but in Him who sent Me.  And he who sees Me sees Him who sent Me.  I have come as a light into the world, that whoever believes in Me should not abide in darkness.  And if anyone hears My words and does not believe,  I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world.  He who rejects Me, and does not receive My words, has that which judges him— the word that I have spoken will judge him in the last day.  For I have not spoken on My own authority; but the Father who sent Me gave Me a command, what I should say and what I should speak.  And I know that His command is everlasting life. Therefore, whatever I speak, just as the Father has told Me, so I speak.”

John 12:44‭-‬50 NKJV

This is a truth I learned this week. Or should I say re-learned. We said we’ll share salvation truths or lessons (we’ll soon come up with a name we promise) every Sundays. You see, we keep our word 😎✌

What did God teach you this week about your salvation?  

P.s: The spirit of God really is one! The key point of my devotional today was “Everything you give up for God is a give-away for the ultimate”

Leave a Reply

