The Holy Spirit

Welcomeeeeeee!! 

So last week we talked about denying self and losing our pride. It’s easier said than done I know. It’s only with the help of the Holy Spirit it’s possible, that’s why this week we’re looking at the Holy Spirit. 

Look at Peter for example, before the Holy Spirit, he was denying Jesus and sleeping off when he was to pray. He wasn’t sensitive to the things of God. After the Holy spirit, he was fasting and praying and speaking in unknown tongues, spreading the Gospel, getting flogged and rejoicing. The Bible says that when we are saved, our spirit joins with God’s, that’s the Holy Spirit. It’s our evidence of being children of God. It is through the spirit of God that God reveals things to us (1 Cor. 2:10-11). He reveals His plans and purpose for our lives. He reveals decisions He wants us to take. Decisions as little as what car to take, what shoes to wear and all. Man is made up of three components – the spirit, soul and body. The body is the flesh, the spirit joins with God’s Spirit when we’re saved so it becomes the Spirit of God, and the soul is the decision maker. Since God has given us free will, when a decision comes, the flesh and the spirit war against what we should or shouldn’t do. It’s kind of like those cartoons where you see an angel and a demon on the shoulders of man and they’re both advising the man on what to do, only in this case you can’t see the angel and demon talking so you have to discern by yourself who is who.

Most people think the spirit comes and overtakes their actions, decisions and all. Nope!! You choose to obey the voice of the Spirit. This is a gradual process. You’re not going to be a guru at once. Today you adhere to the voice once, tomorrow twice, next tomorrow three times until you don’t have to think twice before saying yes to God. You get to that point where you’re bored and you just say “Hi Holy Spirit” and discuss about things you’re unsure of – the Holy Spirit is a person, best friend material. Again, its a choice. You have to make a conscious effort.

The key to successfully running the Christian race is walking in the Spirit. Which is essentially denying self and doing only things the Spirit says. When your heart desires are the Spirit’s heart desires, you and the Spirit have truly become one. That’s how one successfully runs the Christian race. However, before one gets to know the voice of the Holy Spirit, time has to be spent with Him, reading the Bible, praying, fasting, etc. Walking in the Spirit is living with the fruits of the spirits (But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Gal 5:22-23) and getting rid of the fruits of the flesh ( The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God. Gal 5:19-21). And it is only through walking in the Spirit in faith that one is entitled to the blessings of God. Faith without works after all, is dead.

I don’t know how to explain the Holy Spirit to you so I’ll just let the Bible do the talking.

But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you (John 14:26).

“If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you (John 14:15-17).

“I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now. When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come. He will glorify me, for he will take what is mine and declare it to you. All that the Father has is mine; therefore I said that he will take what is mine and declare it to you (John 16:12-15).

And even with the Bible there are too many Bible verses describing the Holy Spirit. Everyone that was set apart by God in the old testament was said to have the spirit of God – Daniel, Moses, Abraham, David, the Prophets. They all had the spirit of God and were able to know the mind of God concerning them and in the case of the prophets, concerning people around them. They were able to do exploits for God and are remembered for their exploits. God is all knowing. He knows the end from the beginning. The Bible says trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In ALL your ways acknowledge Him and He’ll direct your path. This verse is the perfect definition of walking in the spirit. Trusting God in the good, in the bad, in the ugly, in the beautiful, come rain, come shine, no matter the situation, our trust lies in God. 

My Story

I’m going to share the most recent experience with the Holy Spirit that I had with you. This post was to go up on Sunday, but instead it’s up today, on a Tuesday. I had known since last week, of course through the help of the Holy Spirit, that this week’s lesson was going to be on the Holy Spirit. I knew I was going to write about an experience with the Holy Spirit but i thought it was going to be the one that happened two Sundays ago as last week’s post was going up. Little did I know that something else was coming.

I started writing the post last week but then I stopped cos the Holy Spirit is such an extensive topic and I didn’t know how to tackle it so I downloaded Andrew Wommack’s message on the Holy Spirit to listen to. I didn’t end up listening to it but I ended up listening to something else and was ready to post but this “You’re not good enough to be posting about the Holy Spirit” thought came up and I thought it was true. The Holy Spirit is God anyways and even when you think you’ve reached the highest of heights with God, you find out there are still higher heights. The fact that I had been having chronic forgetfulness syndrome did not help. One minute I’m reading about the Holy Spirit, the next I don’t remember what I read so I was like why even bother writing a post when you’ll forget what you’re going to type anyways. All this was happening and I felt really down. I stopped reading my bible and even fell ill.

On Sunday, in church during bible study, we were discussing and then 2 Tim. 1:7 came up and the Holy Spirit showed me that I had been given a sound mind and a sound mind would not forget things the way I was forgetting. Another person brought up the bible verse that says we war against principalities and powers as believers and I realized I had let the devil mess with me. So I did a little check that I learnt from Heather Lindsey. When I got home, I checked to see if the voice was from God, me or the devil. I knew I was not good enough that is why I told God that all content for Phos will come from Him. I was not going to type of my own accord, I’ll just be the typer and God had assured me that His grace was sufficient for me. From reading my bible, I got to know how God talks. God is not a condemning God and this was a voice of condemnation so I knew it was not God. How would God say you’re a chosen generation, a royal priesthood,a holy nation but then you’re not good enough babycakes. It didn’t sound like Him so I realized it was the devil and the devil is the father of all lies so I rebuked him and continued with the post (I slept off on Sunday and yesterday was a busy day that’s why it coming up today. Forgive me please).

The Holy Spirit helped me identify the root of what was happening. This has happened to me a number of times I won’t lie and then each time I’m quicker to know when the devil is messing with me. Walking with the Holy Spirit is such a beautiful thing. The hardest part of it is getting to know the voice of God and that’s by reading the bible, praying, fasting, basically spending time with God. The Holy Spirit has helped me to get over a crush, to get over being cheated of something that was mine (not relationship cheating ooo but I’m sure getting over that is in His job description too), helped me to reply some people in a respectful manner when it was like they deserved lashing out. The Holy Spirit has helped me to fall in love with reading the word, helped me to pray, helped me when I’m working – I was making a bag and the bag did not come out right. I didn’t know why then the Holy Spirit revealed to me that the measurement was not accurate. He showed me how God was always particular about measurements in the Bible. The Holy Spirit is an amazing Spirit and I pray you build your relationship with Him. Even if you already have one, I pray you move to higher heights IJN. Amen.

Share with me some of your experiences with the Holy Spirit. Do you guys have in house jokes? What do you two get up to? I know some people that do dates. I don’t really like going out so we netflix and praise. I’d love to hear from you!

P.s: The header image for this post is a floating bible because of the word “spirit”. Good joke? What picture do you think best describes the Holy Spirit. I’m thinking a happy person? Good?

Leave a Reply

