#CCC

Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life (Proverbs 4:23).

Hii guys!! Long time no conversation. I went for nysc orientation camp (a compulsory one year national youth service for Nigerians after university) in May that’s why I disappeared and then I’ve just been lazy and unconnected to the Source since I got back so I stayed away. As I promised, I’m going to be vulnerable today and tell you about a struggle I recently struggled with 😏😏. 

I’m not one who’s up to date with the latest songs or movies, which is very helpful as I was going off secular music but then as I’m driving or basically living my life trying to be right before God, this catchy, worldly song comes up and refuses to leave my head. Being discerning with music is a struggle for me basically. The recent terror in my head was Ed Sheeran’s shape of you. You guys I fell in love with that song and listened to it everyday, seven days a week. It didn’t help that in camp it was played a lot as well. I don’t download songs until I’m really feeling them and I downloaded this song. The love was really intense. I felt guilty though, I won’t lie. I thought about coming on here and letting it feature as the song of the week but then that in no way edifies anyone or shines any light. I imagined how Jesus would feel if He followed me on twitter and saw me tweeting the lyrics of shape of you. Would he retweet? I think not!! That’s when I decided to seek help from Him. You guys, God is amazing!!! This last week, four things I listened to/watched addressed the issue of our humanity. The thing is we are still human. This morning, as I was reading a book, the purpose driven life, I saw a portion about admitting our limitations. Admitting that we’re human and we don’t have it all figured out. Admitting that sometimes we don’t know what to do and we need guidance. It’s so hard to do that when we’re Christians because we set a high standard for ourselves. The truth is we are hated because we are in this world and not of this world and any slip up, we become the next hot topic on news blogs. Also, because we are humans, some of us set low standards for ourselves. You know these ones by their excuse that sounds like a broken record – the famous “we’re still humans and not perfect anyways”. Revivals are killed by our humanity. Either we think too much of it or not enough or it. The remedy however is seeing ourselves as God sees us – humans that are able to do all things through Him who strengthens us. God knows we are weak but He strengthens us to do all things. And yes, it’s only through God we can do all things. So, our humanity does not make us weak as long as we have God and also we are not able to do it all UNTIL we have God that strengthens us. We need to keep remembering that in Him we live, we move and we have our being.

Back to the music issue, I began rationalizing if listening to secular music was okay as long as it didn’t affect my thought process. Fortunately or unfortunately, I saw a picture of Jay z’s new album on a pastor’s instastory and I used that to justify myself. From justifying myself about listening to secular music, I moved on to justifying wearing inappropriate clothing and condoning swear words, compromising in relationships and basically going against some of my values. It was then I knew I needed a check and went back to the word of God, reading the book of acts (i like this book because it gives the account of the early church which is the account of most of us after accepting Jesus. We’re so gingered at first and then the fire burns out and we’re no longer hot for God. It’s a good book to read when you feel like you’re losing the fire). Later on, my friend sent me a message by Apostle Selman that can be downloaded here. The message is titled “Why revivals die?”. It talks about how our humanity kills revivals. I also stumbled across the Heather Lindsey show episode that talked about music and tv shows and how they unconsciously affect us. You can watch it below. 

I thought that the line – “everyday discovering something brand new” was actually “every woman’s covered in something brand new” and it made me wonder what my smell was and wanted me to get a smell that’s unique to me. Thankfully it wasn’t anything major that it made me do. The song in general though is a very lustful one. Also, watching too many kissing scenes in movies made me wonder if my decision here was me being extreme. I knew it was not something the devil told me to do, I knew it was not something I wanted to do myself because I daydream about kissing my boo. It was something God wanted/or something I wanted to do to give glory to God. During a recent Bible study, i realized that what God wanted in the old testament is what God wanted in the new testament and still wants now. He wants us to be pure without blemish. I saw a quote in twitter that purity is not abstaining from sex, but being focused on God. I want everything that concerns me to be focused on God and that’s why the decision was made. The Bible verse that says guard your heart is truly a good one. 

Jackie Hill Perry did a talk or preaching on spiritual warfare that I watched and she hit some key points. She talked about how the devil is not at war with God because Jesus defeated him a long time ago but the devil is warring with God by messing with our faith.  We wrestle not against flesh and blood but against principalities and powers. She used Adam and Eve as a case study. The devil uses our humanity to mess with us. He presents a version of the Scripture to us but because our faith in God is weak, we don’t realize the verse was taken out of context. Faith is the only weapon of defense in the armor of God therefore we should work out our faith with fear and trembling (2 Corinthians 13:10). You really should watch the video. 

Lastly, I saw a thread on twitter about music. You can read it here. I’ve been obsessed with twitter of late. So many young people sold out to Christ. God is indeed doing wonders with our generation. Have an amazing week guys and pray for our generation. I love you, but God loves you more. 

And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him (Hebrews 11:6).

I’ll leave you with another episode of the Heather Lindsey show. You can watch more episodes on her youtube channel.

Leave a Reply

